‘Unsung Prophets and Dead Messiahs’ by Orphaned Land


  • Kobi Farhi / Vocals

  • Chen Balbus / Guitar

  • Idan Amsalem / Guitars, bouzouki

  • Uri Zelcha / Bass

  • Matan Shmuley / Drums


Musical Feel


Song / Album Composition



  • The Cave

  • We Do Not Resist

  • In Propaganda

  • All Knowing Eye

  • Yedidi

  • Chains Fall To Gravity

  • Like Orpheus

  • Poets of Prophetic Messianism

  • Left Behind

  • My Brother’s Keeper

  • Take My Hand

  • Only The Dead Have Seen The End Of War

  • The Manifest-Epilogue

Orphaned Land is a band that has a rich cultural and musical heritage, hailing from Israel, and the Middle East, their music has often been cited as a healing balm for a land that is often divided and at war with itself. Their music is always topical and relevant to the specific time period within which they are operating, and their new album Unsung Prophets and Dead Messiahs comes at a time when things are even more uncertain.

Songs such as “The Cave,” “We Do Not Resist,” and “Propaganda,” highlights the aggression as well as the melody that the band is so very well versed in. They also highlight the uncertain times within which we live, and the possibility for a difficult time for those within the Middle East especially.

“All Knowing Eye,” “Yedidi,” and “Chains Fall To Gravity,” show off the band’s brilliant musicianship which has been honed through almost three decades of playing and expert crafting of techniques. The vocals of Kobe are flawless throughout the album.

“Like Orpheus,” Features a collaboration with Hansi Kursch from Blind Guardian, and the melody and drive of the song are simply perfect, both Hansi and Kobe play off of one another really well, bringing a song to peak perfection. This continues throughout the album, making this perhaps one of the best and most refined albums Orphaned Land has produced, which given their extensive and brilliant catalogue is saying something.

Orphaned Land has got a great collection of songs here. Each song plays off the previous one incredibly well, forming the narrative of a land, a people and a time that seems quite chaotic, and unlike any time since World War 2. I believe that this is an album that any definitive metalhead must check out and purchase, when it comes out on 26th January.