‘Lost On The Road To Eternity’ by Magnum


  • Bob Catley / Vocals

  • Tony Clarkin / Guitar

  • Rick Benton / Keyboards

  • Al Barrow / Bass

  • Lee Morris / Drums


Musical Feel


Song / Album Composition



  • Peaches and Cream

  • Show Me Your Hands

  • Storm Baby

  • Welcome To The Cosmic Cabaret

  • Lost On The Road To Eternity

  • Without Love

  • Tell Me What You’ve Got To Say

  • Ya Wanna Be Someone

  • Forbidden Masquerade

  • Glory To Ashes

  • King Of The World

Magnum are an institution. Formed in the 1970s in Birmingham, UK, the band have grown from strength to strength in over four decades of active service to the rock n roll cause. Lost On The Road To Eternity, is their 20th studio album. Let that sink in for a moment, Magnum, a band hailing from Birmingham, the town that produced Black Sabbath and Judas Priest, are on their twentieth studio album. The thought and the number is a testament to their longevity and the quality of their work.

“Without Love,” is the first single from the album, and it is a driving song, which sets the tone for the rest of the album quite nicely. However, it is not the best song on the album. And with such multi-faceted songs on the record, that is to be expected.

Songs such as “Peaches and Cream,” “Show Me Your Hands,” and “Storm Baby,” really help bring in the versatility of Magnum, and are songs that are bound to be included in the band’s live setlist for years to come.

Then there are what I would term the big hitters.  “Welcome To The Cosmic Cabaret,” is a sprawling epic that brings all sorts of elements into the listener’s ear. Be it pop, synth laden grooves, prog epicness and then the heaviness from Magnum’s debut album.

“Lost On The Road To Eternity,” the title track, brings Tobias Sammet on for a duet with Bob Catley is a roaring song, that will have people singing throughout, especially live.

With Lost On The Road To Eternity, Magnum have shown that there most definitely is life in the old tank, in fact more than that, they’ve shown that they’ve got what it takes to compete with the newest of bands and far surpass them. This album is a much recommended one. When it comes out on 19th January, make sure to buy it.