“The Elektra Albums: 1983-1987,” by Dokken


Musical Feel


Song / Album Composition


Dokken’s seminal debut period between 1983 and 1987 has been put together in a four disc boxset.

Starting with the album Breaking The Chains, the listener is given the chance to move through the past and hit the sensations of time. Hit after hit starting with “Breaking The Chains,” and moving onto songs such as “Felony,” and “Live To Rock.”

Next up is Tooth and Nail which includes the fast burning title track and the riff rager “When Heaven Comes Down.” Dokken are now moving into their peak.

Under Lock and Key features classics such as “Unchain The Night,” “The Hunter,” and “In My Dreams,” which all show why Dokken were rightly regarded as one of the best bands of the 80s.

Back For The Attack is the final album in the box set and it gets heavy and burns with intensity. Songs such as “Kiss of Death,” and “Prisoner,” show a band at the peak of their powers.

The boxset is out on 27th January via BMG