‘Judge Not’ by Blitzkrieg


  • Brian Ross / Vocals

  • Ken Johnson / Guitar

  • Alan Ross / Guitar

  • Huw Holding / Bass

  • Matt Graham / Drums


Musical Feel


Song / Album Composition



  • Heretic

  • Who Is Blind

  • Forever Is A Long Time

  • Reign of Fire

  • All Hell Is Breaking Loose

  • Angels Or Demons

  • Loud and Proud

  • Without You

  • Judge Not, Lest You Yourself Be Judged

  • Wide Legged and Headless

  • Falling Into Darkness

Blitzkrieg is an institution, part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, they are one of the few bands from the movement that is still going in the modern day, and they have stayed true to their roots. Their new album Judge Not is their first in five years, and so the anticipation is rightly there.

The opening salve is reminiscent of Judas Priest’s Hellion/Electric Eye, and is the aptly titled “Heretic/Who Is Blind?” both songs contain harmonies and an absolutely brilliant vocal performance by singer Brian Ross, a great way to start the record.

The next song “Angels or Demons” has an extraterrestrial feeling to it and seems to be hinting at life beyond our world as one of the reasons for our development.

“Reign of Fire,” is a song about terrorism and that is reflected in the harshness of the music and the lyrics.

“Forever Is A Long Time,” is a song about a vampire growing tired of immortality, its crunchy riffs and the Brian Ross’s soaring vocals make it a song that will surely get people moving at the shows.

“All Hell Is Breaking Loose,” a song about Satan’s plan for revenge against God is as heavy as one would think it would be, a solid bass intro then moves into the storytelling lyrics of Brian Ross, bringing an emphasis of heaviness and headbanging goodness to the music.

“Loud and Proud,” is a rocker, a song that will get the crowd going with its call to arms.

“Without You,” is a song that handles the subject of a breakup and is suitably melancholic whilst also containing a chance of hope.

“Wide-Legged and Headless,” a rocker, with a grim story, Brian Ross really shines on this song, as do guitarists Ken Johnson and Alan Ross, bringing with them a real pinpoint precision that makes the song even more groovy.

“Falling Into Darkness,” a song about Dorian Gray contains some of the heaviest riffs on the record, bringing solid slabs of metal to the table. Judge Not Is heavy and brutal, and is a fitting closer for the album.

Judge Not is a truly awesome record, bringing with it the best of British Heavy Metal. Be sure to get it when it comes out on 27th April. 10/10.