‘School Of Hard Knocks’ by Biff Byford


  • Biff Byford / Vocals

  • Fredrik Åkesson / Guitar

  • Gus Macricostas / Bass

  • Christian Lundqvist / Drums


Musical Feel


Song / Album Composition



  • Welcome To The Show

  • School Of Hard Knocks

  • Inquisitor

  • The Pit And The Pendulum

  • Worlds Collide

  • Scarborough Fair

  • Pedal To The Metal

  • Hearts Of Steel

  • Thrown Down The Sword

  • Me And You

  • Black and White

Biff Byford, all round legend debuts his solo album with an absolutely blinding collection of songs.

“Welcome To The Show,” kicks proceedings off. It begins slowly, before working itself into a frenzy. The vocals narrate a cleverly planned story that delivers on the hype and enthusiasm of the audience within the listener’s mind.

“School Of Hard Knocks,” is truly autobiographical, and like the man himself, is filled with twists and turns. A song that is at turns straight ahead rock and roll, with some dramatic flourishes, really delivers a killer punch.

“Inquisitor,” is an acoustic song that mixes together differing elements. The vocals are haunting and at times terrifying, ensuring the listener is hooked on every word, awaiting the future that beckons from within.

“The Pit And The Pendulum,” is an absolute rager. A song that drives itself hard and fast, pushing into boundaries not previously explored, and smashing them down into nothingness. The song also brings  together some very intricate melodies for consumption and analysis. A fascinating journey.

“Worlds Collide,” is pure energy. A song that combines metal with melody and delivers an absolutely blinding riff and a superb vocal melody to deliver perfection and drive from within.

“Scarborough Fair,” haunting and perfection incarnate. A song that takes on a great many lives and turns through the thoroughfare and ensures the listener is left wanting more.

“Pedal To The Metal,” is an absolute rager of a song. One that is carried off the back of a superb riff, and then continues to deliver like a sledgehammer thanks to the perfectly executed vocal melody that really gets the blood pumping.

“Hearts of Steel,” is simply epic. A song that carries some fascinating melodies and carries a historical narrative. A song that bleeds red and white with the crusading badge firmly pinned on its shield. A song that is pure Biff.

“Throw Down Your Sword,” the old Wishbone Ash classic gets new treatment here. A song that is perfectly suited to Biff’s vocals and the band that he’s got around him. A song that carves an image into the listener’s mind and demands to be viewed.

“Me And You,” gets slightly romantic and thoughtful. An acoustic melody provides some add verve.

“Black and White,” goes in for a psychedelic feeling and brings the album to a fitting close.

School Of Hard Knocks is out on 21st February via Silver Lining Music.