‘Sign Of The Times’ by Axel Rudi Pell


  • Johnny Gioeli / Vocals

  • Axel Rudi Pell / Guitar

  • Ferdy Doernberg / Keyboards

  • Volker Krawczak / Bass

  • Bobby Rondinelli / Drums


Musical Feel


Song / Album Composition



  • The Black Serenade

  • Gunfire

  • Bad Reputation

  • Sign Of The Times

  • The End Of The Line

  • As Blind As A Fool Can Be

  • Wings Of The Storm

  • Waiting For Your Call

  • Living In A Dream

  • Into The Fire

Axel Rudi Pell, the metal legend is back with a new album entitled Sign Of The Times, and it is an absolute corker. Read on to find out why.

“The Black Serenade,” kicks things off and there’s a real sense of something dark and foreboding on the horizon with the way the guitar builds into a narrative form on the melody coupled with the haunting choral vocals.

“Gunfire,” follows on from that like a rocket. There’s a real feel of Deep Purple to the song, mixed in with the distinct guitar sound of Axel Rudi Pell. This is going to be a song that wins people over when the live scene returns.

“Bad Reputation,” is another song that is heavy on the riffage. The drums pound out a serious beat and take a turn here and there, before unleashing the chaos of the world. As things progress, one can feel the classic eighties influences that have so shaped Axel Rudi Pell into the musician he is.

“Sign Of The Times,” the title track is ethereal. Right from the get go there’s a genuine sense of foreboding within the song. It eases its way into an absolute riff monster of a song and enables Axel Rudi Pell and his band to embrace so many different elements.

“The End Of The Line,” is a song that comes out of the gate with a cracking riff before pressing on into a frenetic beat. A song that ventures this way and that before finding completion in the shifting tenor of melodical discomposition.

“As Blind As A Fool Can Be,” is fantastic. It is a simply a masterpiece. A song that delves into differing contexts and feeds into the worries of the modern world. The vocals are precise and piercing and the guitars know the right note to hit. As a song it is perhaps the best one that Axel Rudi Pell and his band have composed.

“Wings Of The Storm,” is another rager of a song. One which goes all out for the classic rock grooves of Coverdale/Hughes Deep Purple and comes off shining as ever.

“Waiting For Your Call,” is a soaring engine of a song, one that breathes into existence and takes a fascinating dive through the tone of the world.

“Living In A Dream,” is a fascinating song. One that combines precise riffage with a soaring and divergent vocal melody such that the listener is caught between headbanging and moving with the beat.

“Into The Fire,” is the perfect finisher. A song that is without peer.

Axel Rudi Pell has created a masterpiece. The album is out on 8th May via Steamhammer/SPV.